Holidays of India

Holidays of India

India is populated by millions of people. Each of them is unlike any other - each has his own destiny, his duties and his obligations, collectively called dharma. From Kashmir to Tamilnadu, from Bengal to Rajasthan, there are people who are completely different from each other in the matter of ethnos, religion, the way of life, or even in the manner of dressing.

In Rajasthan, for example, women and men are very brave and warlike. Here the main deity is Shiva, although they also worship Krishna.

In Bengal, considered the cultural center of the country, people are very elegant and soft. Here the cult of Krishna is more widespread than anywhere else.

In Kashmir live mainly Muslims, and in Punjab — mainly Sikhs.

Goa is a Europeanized state, and here the majority of the population are Catholics.

There are Jains, Parsis, Buddhists, and many followers of various schools that fill the whole of India.

But there is something in these people, without which none of them could call India their homeland. Something that stands above the personal, something that can unite millions and millions of completely different people. This factor, undoubtedly, is the ability of people's self-awareness as a whole, as a nation that has its ancient and rich culture. The understanding that only together Bengalis and Rajputs, Kashmiris, Marathas and people from Kerala, and all the rest, by uniting their cultures into single Indian culture can really be a great people and a great country.

One of the forms of the connecting element is a national holiday. A national holiday is a very important social factor in India. It allows not only to feel oneself in a casual atmosphere, unlike other days, in an atmoshpere when a person can throw out all accumulated emotions, and it is also a powerful tool for uniting peoples and believers. Passing through the streets of cities and capturing all segments of the population, a holiday blurs the boundaries of interfaith and interethnic differences.

Праздники Индии


Праздники Индии

Индия населена миллионами людей. Каждый из них не похож ни на одного другого — у каждого своя судьба, свои обязанности и свой долг, в совокупности называемые дхармой. От Кашмира до Тамилнаду, от Бенгалии до Раджастхана, живут люди, совершенно не похожие друг на друга ни в вопросе этноса, ни в вероисповедании, ни укладом жизни, ни даже манерой одеваться.

В Раджастхане, например, женщины и мужчины очень храбры и воинственны. Здесь главным божеством является Шива, хотя поклоняются и Кришне.

В Бенгалии, считающейся культурным центром страны, люди очень элегантны и мягки. Здесь в большей степени распространен культ Кришны, чем где бы то ни было.

В Кашмире живут, в основном, мусульмане, а в Пенджабе — сикхи.

Гоа — европеизированный штат, и здесь большинство населения — католики.

Есть и джайны, и парсы, и буддисты, и множество последователей различных движений, наполняющие всю Индию. 

Но есть что-то в этих людях, без чего никто из них не смог бы назвать Индию своей родиной. Что-то, стоящее над личностным, то, что способно объединить миллионы и миллионы совершенно разных людей. Этим фактором, несомненно, является способность самосознания людей как нечто целое, как народность, имеющую свою древнюю и богатую культуру. Осознание того, что только вместе бенгальцы и раджпуты, кашмирцы, маратхи и выходцы из Кералы, и все остальные, только объединяя свои культуры в культуру индийскую, смогут действительно быть великим народом и великой страной.

Одной из форм связующего элемента является народный праздник. Народный праздник — очень важный социальный фактор в Индии. Он позволяет не только почувствовать себя в непринужденной, в отличие от будничных дней, атмосфере, когда человек может выплеснуть все накопившиеся эмоции, но и является мощным инструментом объединения народов и верующих. Проходя по улицам городов и захватывая все слои населения, праздник стирает границы межконфессионального и межнационального различия. 

Источник